Haiti Quake and Reconstruction Resources

by | 1.28.2009 at 2:15pm
Follow us on Facebook or Twitter

Earth Institute scientists are involved in long-term projects to study continued earthquake risk in Haiti and surrounding countries, and to aid reconstruction and development. Our Haiti Earthquake pages: http://blogs.ei.columbia.edu/blog/tag/haiti-earthquake/ contain continually updated resources for journalists. Seismologists, natural-disaster experts and others continue to provide interviews, images and essays on the implications and outlook. These include assessments of future quake risk; quick links to published media; reports from staff who were in Haiti; and opinion pieces.

For interviews, journalists may call scientists directly or through press officers (below).

Art Lerner-Lam 845-365-8356 lerner@ldeo.columbia.edu

Seismology, earthquake hazard; social, economic and geologic factors affecting natural disasters.

http://www.ldeo.columbia.edu/user/lerner

Geoffrey Abers 845-365-8539 abers@ldeo.columbia.edu
Seismology, earthquake hazard
http://www.ldeo.columbia.edu/user/abers

Leonardo Seeber 845-365-8385 nano@ldeo.columbia.edu
Seismology, earthquake hazard
http://www.ldeo.columbia.edu/user/nano

Bill Menke 845-365-8438 menke@ldeo.columbia.edu
Seismology, earthquake hazard
http://www.ldeo.columbia.edu/user/menke

Jim Gaherty 845-365-8450 gaherty@ldeo.columbia.edu
Seismology, earthquake hazard
http://www.ldeo.columbia.edu/user/gaherty

Lynn Sykes 845-365-8880 sykes@ldeo.columbia.edu
Seismology, earthquake hazard
http://www.ldeo.columbia.edu/user/sykes

John Mutter 845-365-8730 Jcm@ldeo.columbia.edu
Public policy of natural disasters; social, economic and geologic factors. Also a seismologist.
http://www.ldeo.columbia.edu/user/jcm

Klaus Jacob 845-365-8440 jacob@ldeo.columbia.edu
Public policy of natural disasters; social, economic and geologic factors. Also a seismologist.
http://www.ldeo.columbia.edu/user/jacob

Colin Stark 845-365-8742 cstark@ldeo.columbia.edu
Geologic factors magnifying natural disasters, particularly landslides.
http://www.ldeo.columbia.edu/user/cstark

Marc Levy, deputy director & political scientist, Center for International Earth Science Information Network. In Haiti during quake.
mlevy@ciesin.columbia.edu
http://www.ciesin.columbia.edu/marc_levy_bio_2009.html

Alex Fischer, political scientist, groundwater scientist, Center for International Earth Science Information Network. In Haiti during quake.
alexandermfischer@gmail.com

For experts on public health or history of Haiti, call: John Tucker, Columbia University Public Affairs.
Office: 212-854-6164
jht2112@columbia.edu

For experts on economics, politics, international affairs,
call: Tanya Domi 646-512-0273 td207@columbia.edu

Earth Institute director Jeffrey Sachs and executive director Steve Cohen are available for interviews on a selected basis.

Online:
Haiti Earthquake pages: http://blogs.ei.columbia.edu/blog/tag/haiti-earthquake/

More information:

Kevin Krajick, senior science writer, The Earth Institute, Columbia University
Office: 212-854-9729  Mobile: 917-361-7766 kkrajick@ei.columbia.edu

Kim Martineau, science writer, Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory, The Earth Institute, Columbia University
Office: 845-365-8708  Mobile: 347-753-4816, kmartine@ldeo.columbia.edu

Clare Oh, Columbia University Public Affairs  asst. director, strategic communication
Office: 212-854-5497  Mobile: 646-415-2479  clare.oh@columbia.edu

Follow us on Facebook or Twitter

Comment Using Social Media

Comment